top of page

2015 – A year of transition & new experiences

The seconds continue to tick by as we approach the end of 2015. Time is a constant unit yet the past year has flew by in a blur. As I look back at the events that have shaped my 2015, I couldn’t be happier with how things have unfolded. It has been a year of transition and full of new experiences.


The year kicked off with me finally rejoining civilian life after ORDing from Army. Contrary to many, I actually miss camp life! The simplistic lifestyle of moving out for missions, sharing a laugh with my brothers and all those late night suppers. I miss these tiny aspects of my NS life that I may have taken for granted when I was still with the force.

Alpha Coy 16th Mono

Looking back at the two years in Army, I have made numerous silly mistakes. Rash and hot tempered, I wasn’t easy to get along with. Thank you my Guardsmen brothers for accommodating me! Yes I am looking forward to reservist! See you faggots soon!


Bored with nothing to do after finishing my national service, I decided to take up a part-time job. It was the first time I had taken up a job or worked! I worked as Customer Service Operator/Telemarketer and experienced first-hand the nasty side of customer service. Rude, unreasonable, over-demanding customers drive you crazy and leave you frustrated and exhausted at the end of the day. After working such a job, I made it a point to always hear out whatever the person has to say over the phone because getting your call slammed down leaves an unpleasant bitter aftertaste!


By June, I had left my job and dedicated the rest of my holidays to joining NUS’s freshmen orientation camps. Perhaps the most memorable of all the orientation projects, RAG (stands for receive & give, a performance incorporating dance and background structures) gave me the opportunity to experience the business school spirit and instilled a sense of faculty pride in me. Though the camp was a crazy 1 month long filled with sleepless nights, I made some awesome friends and had tons of fun!

Tutukueh! B’RAG Family!

It was such a good experience that it motivated me to join the organizing committee for next year’s RAG even though most shy away due to the heavy summer commitments. I want my juniors to enjoy such a wonderful experience because I have benefited from my senior’s sacrifices.


School begun in August and the next 4 months went by in the blink of an eye. From trying to get my rusty mind working again to cramming for finals, uni life so far has been fast-paced and busy. Even though I don’t stay Hall, my time seems to just fly by. Assignments, projects and presentations, exams, sometimes you struggle to catch your breath. Well if uni was that easy and not posing a challenge, why bother to attend in the first place huh?! With all that freedom bestowed upon you in uni, it can sometimes be tempting to just slack off. I guess at the end of the day, its all down to personal discipline and work life balance.


But the most fulfilling thing of 2015 is that I managed to go on 4 trips this calendar year! Bangkok & Perth with my family, Sydney & Hong Kong with my friends, I really could not ask for more (well technically I went to Johor with my whole extended family too)! My strong urge/passion to travel the world and capture the most stunning photographs has been fulfilled to a certain extent HAHAHHAHA! So looking forward to 2016! Where will my travel diary take me?!

Hahaha just for fun! Top 9 post on Insta!

Thanks again to everyone that made my 2015 such an awesome year! Happy New Year readers! Cheers to a great year ahead and please continue supporting me!!!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page